“There comes a time when silence is betrayal.”  – Martin Luther King Jr.

Lawd, I dont know nothin bout my man
but I got dis post card
him burnt
swung from a rope
didn need no hoods
men in straw hats done it
dey kids eatin treats
dey women most vocal
dey said he tried to teech them
wernt neva true
He done gone to the sto
to ask why Mista riled me
I neva told what Mista did
neva told bout the other men
neva told the yung boy do it too
all the while deys tellin him
this is how you treat dem niggas
dis your first boy
sweet meat
keeps dem in dey place
all the time, the judge sittin there
playin checkers with Mr. Jeff
I told him it wernt nothin
told him not to go
told him we had vittles
wernt no need to go
so now I got dis mail card
card say shut up or you next
nigga bitch
him dead and Mista holdin the burn wood
dey sold pieces of dat wood for a nickel
when it got cool nuf to handle
I was gonna burn dat dress
torn with blood on it
but he’d seen it for I could
I asked the Lawd not to let him go
but Jesus aint say nothin
he ain’t neva had no pride
not bout work
or chilren or nothin
the ax handle be broke
but some hell fire flare up dat day
when he saw my broom jumpin dress
ripped and bloody like I was
he slaved to buy dat dress
all dem Sundays without gods words
I thought he throw it in
when the white preacher beat him
for not stackin the wood proper
but he bought dat dress
nothin left for the coolin’ board
dey wont let me have him no way
Dey say he hang there
till his nigger meat fall off
All I ken do is bury dis dress
say some words over it
and move on.

– CZVasser

Leave a Reply

