Why Lemonade is for Black Women by Dominique Matti

My Mellow 4/27/16: There are days when, as a black man, I am so filled with pain I cannot even scream. If I could, it would not help. Most days I don’t feel your pain. I have enough for myself. I hear you, but its not fair to heap more unearned guilt and shame on Black men by calling them betrayers. To assume that black men see black women as collateral damage is unforgivable. When someone looks at you sometimes you see their hurt and suffering. Sometimes you see their pain. You sometimes see their lack of trust, faith and love or a look that judges or a love qualified by fathers and lovers past. A look that says you are shiftless and lazy. Yes, same stereotype, different words. Black men know what it’s like to be hammered too. We are the American nail that must be beat down. We are in this together.

I’ve been married 37 years. We’ve known each other for 40 years. My grown kids are currently having some bad patches and they have come back home, my daughter with her husband and 3 kids.

I love your piece. I understand this is a Black women’s story. I’m ok with that. I just don’t feel some of the comments fit all Black men. Forgive me.

Leave a Reply

